Pokémon Legends: Arceus Starters Guide

| |

Released in late January 2022, Pokemon Legends: Arceus quickly became a big hit for Nintendo and the Pokémon Company.

Set in the Hisui Region of the Pokéverse (the bygone era of the Sinnoh Region), you need to help the professor learn more about Pokémon by catching them.

After an extensive tutorial, you will get to choose one of three starter Pokémon that you previously captured during the tutorial phase. Below you’ll find some more details about them.

Who are the Starters of Pokémon Legends: Arceus?

In Pokémon Legends: Arceus, the starters you’ll be able to choose from are Rowlet, Cyndaquil, and Oshawott. These 3 Pokémon have all been starters in other previously released Pokémon games, however, of all Pokémon starters, these 3 have been pretty popular!

Table of Contents



Rowlet – Originally a Gen 7 starter, Rowlet is a Grass/Flying-type Pokémon that evolves into Dartrix, and then finally into Decidueye. He is the first starter in the franchise that can learn Fly. He is also the lightest and smallest of all starters in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

  • Category: Grass Quill Pokemon
  • Type: Grass/Flying
  • Abilities: Overgrow, Long Reach



Cyndaquil – A popular Gen 2 starter that made its way to Legends: Arceus. Cyndaquil is a Fire-type that evolves into Quilava, and then finally into Typhlosion.

This Fire Pokémon is a small, bipedal, furry Pokémon with short arms and legs. It has bluish-gray fur on its back

  • Category: Fire Mouse Pokemon
  • Type: Fire
  • Abilities: Blaze, Flash Fire



Oshawott – Known from Gen 5, Oshawott is a Water-type that evolves into Dewott before evolving into Samurott.

Overall, Oshawott is the most balanced starter in Legends: Arceus that matches up well against many of the Noble Pokémon you’ll encounter.

  • Category: Sea Otter Pokemon
  • Type: Water
  • Abilities: Torrent, Shell Armor

At what levels do my Pokémon evolve in Pokémon Legends: Arceus?

Your first Pokémon will be able to evolve at level 17 into their first evolution. At level 36 your Pokémon can evolve into their final form of the evolutionary line.

Can Starters Be Shiny Pokémon?

No, all Pokémon you receive in static encounters are Shiny-locked. This means that they cannot become Shiny. You can still capture a Shiny of the Pokémon you chose as your starter later in the game when you encounter them in the wild.

Can I get the other 2 starters as well?

Yes, Pokémon Legends: Arceus allows you to capture the other 2 starters that you didn’t pick at the beginning of the game. You don’t need to trade with friends and can instead just capture them in the wild!

Final Remarks

The 3 starters of Pokémon Legends: Arceus are all familiar favorites, however, Oshawott remains the best Pokémon in Legends: Arceus as he is the most effective against most Noble Pokémon in the region.

The weakest starter to pick would be Rowlet as Rowlet is the weakest in terms of offense and defense. The most popular starter however in Legends: Arceus is Cyndaquil, as Fire-types always seem to be the most popular starters.

James Laight

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.